Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.


The nursery operates under the framework of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) to support children in the early years. The EYFS sets the standards that all early years providers must meet. These standards are divided into three sections, they are:

  • The Learning and Development Requirements
  • Assessments
  • The Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements

As a nursery we have robust systems in place to ensure that we meet all of the standards set out by the EYFS.

It is our aim to provide a homely, caring and stimulating environment for the children in our care. In partnership with parents, your child will be allocated a key person. The key person will identify your child’s needs with skill and respond to them sensitively. We have an ‘open house’ policy before your child starts, this is when we invite you to spend time with us so that you can talk to the staff about any anxieties or queries you may have. We attempt to keep your child’s ‘home routine’ when feeding to make the transition from home to nursery as smooth as possible until the child has adjusted to the nursery routine.

During your child’s time with us, they may make internal transitions into new rooms depending on their age and stage of development. Both of our nurseries are divided into age and stage specific rooms that cater for the individual needs of the children and the age and stage that they represent. Each room is arranged with the EYFS guidance, and makes sure the Learning Areas of the EYFS are apparent and accessible.

There are seven areas of learning and development in the EYFS that shape educational programmes in both of our nurseries. All areas of learning and development are important and there is a clear connection between them.

Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are: 

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The EYFS has two assessments that are a statutory requirement. These are:

  • Two Years Progress Check
  • Early Years Profile

These assessments occur when your child is in their second year of life (Two Years Progress Check) and when they reach the end of the Reception year in school (Early Years Profile). As a nursery, we take every opportunity to get to know your child so that the Two Year Progress Check can be completed accurately and this is something that is done in partnership with parents. Key people also continually carry out formative assessments as a fundamental part of the learning and development process.

The EYFS also sets out clear guidelines for the Safeguarding and Welfare requirements that our nursery must meet. These requirements range from the suitability of staff that work with the children, medicines we can administer to the staff child ratios. As a nursery, we consider these requirements vital in the delivery of our services. They are continually monitored and updated and changes made where necessary.

When children leave the nursery for primary education, they all receive a report outlining their achievements and capabilities. It provides important information for their teachers indicating their level in the various areas of the curriculum. As an extra-curricular activity we also have a trained Drama teacher who comes to the nursery once a week to work with children. Parents have the option of enrolling their children to these sessions.